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Chapter 1

MTG_CARD_E

1.1 Card Rulings & Descriptions - E

- - * - * - E - * - * - -

Earthbind

Earth Link

Earthlore

Earthquake

Eater of the Dead

Ebon Stronghold

Ebony Horse

Elder Druid

Elder Land Wurm

Electric Eel

El-Hajjaj

Elkin Bottle

Elvish Archers

Elvish Farmer

Elvish Healer

Elvish Scout

Enchantment Alteration
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Enduring Renewal

Energy Flux

Energy Tap

Equinox

Erg Raiders

Erhnam Djinn

Erosion

Essence Flare

Eternal Flame

Eureka

Evaporate

Evil Eye of Orms-By-Gore

Evil Presence

Eye for an Eye

1.2 Earthbind

Earthbind:

As errata to all versions of this card, it should read "When Earthbind
comes into play, it deals 2 damage to target creature is enchants if that
creature has flying. That creature loses flying."
[WotC Rules Team 06/15/95]

The two damage happens only once, and just like other damage it goes away
at the end of the turn. [PPG Page 222]

If Flight is cast on an Earthbound creature, it gains flying again. In
general, if two enchantments contradict each other, the most recently
cast wins. [Page 45]

The damage is done after it enters play and not as part of the casting of
the spell. It is something the permanent does while in play. This means
the damage is not subject to Justice. [Aahz 01/03/96]

The Limited and Unlimited Editions of this card were only castable on
flying creatures. The Revised Edition card can be cast on any creature
but has no effect on non-flying creatures. Note that the Limited and
Unlimited versions of this spell do not remove themselves once the
creature is not flying.
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Card Information

1.3 Earth Link

Earth Link:

Triggers even if the creature doesn’t stay in the graveyard because of
Enduring Renewal or some other triggered effect. [bethmo 01/19/96]

1.4 Earthlore

Earthlore:

See the Enchant Land entry in the General Rulings for more information.

As of 06/01/96, the land is tapped during announcement and as a cost
instead of being tapped during resolution. [WotC Rules team 05/08/96]

Ignore the first sentence of this card up to the comma.
[Duelist Magazine #6, Page 130]

It is buried if you lose control of the target land.
[WotC Rules Team 06/15/95]

1.5 Earthquake

Earthquake:

This is not a targeted spell, so it may be cast when there are no
creatures in play. [bethmo]

Whether or not a creature is not Flying is only checked on resolution.
[D’Angelo 10/05/95]

Card Information

1.6 Eater of the Dead

Eater of the Dead:

As errata, the card should read "0: Untap eater of the dead to remove
target creature in the graveyard from the game."
[Duelist Magazine #5, Page 23]

See Creature in the Graveyard in the General Rulings for more information.

As of 06/01/96, the card is untapped during announcement of and as a cost
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instead of being untapped during resolution. [WotC Rules team 05/08/96]

Before 06/01/96, it untaps during the resolution of its effect. If it is
not still in a tapped state at the time when it resolves, then the effect
fails and no creature is removed from the game.
[Duelist Magazine #3, Page 7]

Before 06/01/96, if the target creature in the graveyard is not there on
resolution then the entire effect fizzles and the Eater does not untap.
[Aahz 08/01/95]

It still untaps as normal during untap unless otherwise prevented. The
ability is not inhibited by other effects that prevent normal untapping
such as Meekstone, Paralyze, Smoke, etc. [Aahz 08/10/94]

Card Information

1.7 Ebon Stronghold

Ebon Stronghold:

See Dwarven Ruins for rulings.

Card Information

1.8 Ebony Horse

Ebony Horse:

The Arabian Nights and Revised Edition versions of this card made the
creature treated as if it never attacked. The creature is not considered
to have attacked for purposes of "attack or die" effects like Siren’s
Call. [WotC Rules Team 12/15/94]

With the Arabian version, the Clockwork Beast did not last until the end
of combat so it does not lose a counter. [bethmo 08/08/94]

The Fourth Edition version of this card only untaps the creature and makes
it neither take nor deal damage. It is still attacking, however.
[Duelist Magazine #5, Page 10]

Card Information

1.9 Elder Druid

Elder Druid:

The decision to tap or untap is made on announcement before target is
selected. This decision cannot be changed if the effect is redirected.
[D’Angelo 10/04/95]
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The choice of target gives free range of lands, creatures and artifacts.
You do not lock in on one type as a casting decision. If the effect is
redirected, the type is not fixed. [D’Angelo 10/04/95]

1.10 Elder Land Wurm

Elder Land Wurm:

It becomes free to attack once it has been assigned as a blocker once.
[WotC Rules Team 09/22/95]

Since it cannot attack until it has blocked at least once, it can be
effectively killed by a Nettling Imp or Siren’s Call effect.
[Aahz 06/24/94]

Card Information

1.11 Electric Eel

Electric Eel:

As errata, the +2/+0 lasts until end of turn. [WotC Rules Team 09/22/95]

Card Information

1.12 El-Hajjaj

El-Hajjaj:

The Arabian and Revised Edition versions give you life for the total
amount of unprevented damage inflicted regardless of the toughness of the
target. For example, if an El-Hajjaj with Unholy Strength is blocked by
a 1/1 Goblin, you get 3 life, but if a Samite Healer prevents one point,
you get 2 life. The Fourth Edition version only gives you life up to a
maximum of the creature’s toughness or player’s life total.
[Duelist Magazine #5, Page 10]

Card Information

1.13 Elkin Bottle

Elkin Bottle:

This is not considered to be drawing a card. [Aahz 06/12/95]

If the Bottle leaves play or your control, the spell is put in your
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graveyard. [D’Angelo 06/14/95]

The card is not part of your hand in any way. You cannot be forced to
discard it due to a discard from hand effect. When you play it, it is
played following rules as if it were being played from your hand (e.g. a
Sorcery is played as such and is not played as an instant).
[WotC Rules Team 05/08/96]

You cannot play a card from the Elkin Bottle onto an Ice Cauldron.
[WotC Rules Team 05/08/95] (See the Ice Cauldron for more info)

Word of Command cannot be used to force a player to play a spell off the
Bottle. [Aahz 12/18/95] (This is a REVERSAL of a previous ruling.)

You can get a creature card onto the Bottle when Enduring Renewal is in
play. [D’Angelo 12/04/95]

The card is removed at the beginning of upkeep (not during or at the end)
if it isn’t played. [D’Angelo 12/21/95]

1.14 Elvish Archers

Elvish Archers:

The Alpha printing version of this card was a 1/2 creature. All further
printings were corrected to make it a 2/1 creature.

Card Information

1.15 Elvish Farmer

Elvish Farmer:

See the Token Creatures entry in the General Rulings for more information.

Card Information

1.16 Elvish Healer

Elvish Healer:

You do not have to choose whether it targets a green creature, or if it
targets either a non-green creature or player. The effect just targets
a creature and the amount of prevention is determined on resolution.
[Aahz 10/05/95]
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1.17 Elvish Scout

Elvish Scout:

Can prevent damage from being dealt but does not prevent special abilities
like the Basilisk stoning. [Aahz 12/02/94]

See the Fog Effects entry in the General Rulings for more information.

Card Information

1.18 Enchantment Alteration

Enchantment Alteration:

See the Moving Enchantments entry in the General Rulings for more
information.

Cannot move an enchantment to an illegal target. [Card Text]

Only targets the enchantment and not either of the things the enchantment
may be on. [Aahz 07/09/95]

You can move a Blue Ward since it offers protection to the creature and not
to itself. [bethmo 09/14/94]

If it is Deflected, you cannot change the choice of destination. You can
only change the enchantment which will be moved to that destination.
[D’Angelo 10/31/95]

Card Information

1.19 Enduring Renewal

Enduring Renewal:

Token creatures are removed from the game if they end up in the graveyard
or your hand, so this effect will not let you get them in your hand.
[D’Angelo 06/08/95]

The creature discarding effect is a triggered effect and as such will not
do anything until after the draw effect completely resolves. Thus, if
you play Brainstorm, you can draw a creature and put it back onto the
library before the triggered effect happens... and thereby not have to
discard it at this time. [WotC Rules Team 05/08/96]

You can use Resurrection or Safe Haven to get creatures into play.
[D’Angelo 06/14/95] This is because the creatures come to your hand in
some way that is not considered a "draw".

If you Animate Dead a creature then the Animate is removed, the creature
goes to your hand. [D’Angelo 06/14/95]
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If the creature is only a creature due to an effect, it still comes to your
hand. [Duelist Magazine #7, Page 9] This includes Mishra’s Factory,
Titania’s Song and any other way to animate a card.

1.20 Energy Flux

Energy Flux:

As errata, the card should give all artifacts in play "Pay {2} during your
upkeep or bury this artifact", and thereby give all artifacts an upkeep
cost. It should not be read as an upkeep effect that destroys artifacts
and has a prevention cost. [WotC Rules Team 10/18/95] (This is a
REVERSAL to the common reading of the Fourth Edition version of the card)

Read the word "discarded" on the Antiquities version as meaning "destroyed".
This is official errata to the card. [Duelist Magazine #4, Page 137]

There is an upkeep cost imposed on the artifacts. They cannot have their
abilities used until this upkeep is dealt with. See the Upkeep entry
in the Turn Order section of the General Rulings for more information.

The Fourth Edition version differed from the Antiquities and Revised
Edtion versions in that it implied a destroy at once effect with a cost
to prevent destruction rather than an upkeep cost. Errata has been
issued to make all the cards act alike.

Card Information

1.21 Energy Tap

Energy Tap:

As errata, the Fourth Edition card should say "Tap target untapped creature
you control..." because it should not target a tapped creature under
Fourth Edition rules. [Duelist Magazine #5, Page 10]

Card Information

1.22 Equinox

Equinox:

As errata, this card should read "Choose target land you control. {0}:
Tap land Equinox enchants to counter target spell that will send one
or more lands you control to the graveyard. Play this ability as
an interrupt." [WotC Rules Team 06/15/95]

See the Enchant Land entry in the General Rulings for more information.
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Can be used to counter any spell which would result in the destruction
of one or more of your lands. For example a Shatter cast on an
Assembly Worker or even a Lightning Bolt at an animated land.
[WotC Rules Team 06/15/95]

Cannot be used to counter non-spell effects such as Demonic Hordes or
others which destroy lands. [bethmo 06/14/94]

Cannot be used to counter a spell like Demonic Hordes which creates a
possibility of a land being destroyed at a later time. [bethmo 06/15/94]

Cannot be used to counter a spell which would indirectly cause destruction
of one of your lands. For example, casting Resurrection on a Mold
Demon or casting Terror on a creature while Earthlink is in play.
[Aahz 11/21/95]

Cannot be used to counter a spell which has a random chance of destroying
a land, such as Falling Star or Chaos Orb. [Aahz 04/16/96]

Can be used to counter a spell which requires sacrificing when it enters
play such as Mold Daemon or Wood Elemental. [WotC Rules Team 12/15/94]
But not one that requires sacrificing as part of the casting cost.
[Aahz 12/17/94] Mana Vortex was accidentally listed in the ruling
but cannot be countered by Equinox since it sacrifices as a cost.
[Aahz 12/17/94]

Balance can be countered only if you have more lands than someone else in
play when Equinox is announced and resolved. [Aahz 11/11/95]

Does not stop the sending of the land from play into its owner’s hand.
[Aahz 06/16/94]

As of 06/01/96, the land is tapped during announcement and as a cost
instead of being tapped on resolution. [WotC Rules team 05/08/96]

Before 06/01/96, this effect taps the land on resolution and not on
activation. If it cannot successfully tap the land at that time it will
not counter the spell. Note that the use cost is really zero mana so you
can declare this more than once if you want to. [D’Angelo 07/06/95]

It is buried if you lose control of the target land.
[WotC Rules Team 06/15/95]

Card Information

1.23 Erg Raiders

Erg Raiders:

If tapped and unable to attack, they still do 2 damage to the controller
of this card. [Snark]

The Arabian Nights version of this card has two versions, one with a small
dark circle behind the "1" in the casting cost (rarity C3) and one with
a normal mana circle behind the cost (rarity C1).
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Card Information

1.24 Erhnam Djinn

Erhnam Djinn:

You cannot choose to use the "give ForestWalk" effect when there are no
targets. The rule is that you can end upkeep without dealing with it
if there are no targets at that time, but if there is a target at that
time then you must deal with it. [Duelist Magazine #7, Page 98]

In multiplayer games you can choose a different player’s creature each time
it is used. [Duelist Magazine #4, Page 64]

Card Information

1.25 Erosion

Erosion:

The payment is an upkeep cost on the enchantment and not on the land itself.
[WotC Rules Team 05/08/96] (This is a REVERSAL of a previous ruling I
had here)

Card Information

1.26 Essence Flare

Essence Flare:

It’s effect is not an upkeep cost, it’s just an upkeep effect.
[Aahz 02/12/96]

1.27 Eternal Flame

Eternal Flame:

Targets one opposing player. [Duelist Magazine #4, Page 64]

Card Information

1.28 Eureka
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Eureka:

The cards played during Eureka all enter play one at a time. This means
that if two of the same Legend are put into play as the result of this
spell that the second one is buried, not both of them. [Aahz 06/22/94]

You keep putting cards out until both/all players say they are done. It is
not until one player says they are done. You alternate simply to stop
one player from putting out too many cards in a row when the other player
wants to play some. Another way to think of this is to go around the
table. Each player may play a card or pass. Eureka ends once an entire
pass around the table is made where everyone passes.
[Duelist Magazine #2, Page 8]

The cards are just put into play. They are not cast, and so they cannot be
countered, will not trigger "gain 1 life when" or other effects (such as
the Verduran Enchantress) that can only be used when a spell is cast.
[Aahz 09/02/94] Simlarly, they can be played on creatures, like Autumn
Willow, that cannot be targeted by spells and effects... since these are
considered to be neither at the time. [bethmo 02/23/96]

Any effects that trigger due to these cards coming into play do not trigger
until after the entire Eureka effect is done resolving. [Aahz 10/25/95]

Continuous effects of cards put into play happen immediately.
[Aahz 12/18/95]

Applies to all players in multiplayer games. [Duelist Magazine #4, Page 64]

Card Information

1.29 Evaporate

Evaporate:

A creature which is both blue and white only takes one damage.
[WotC Rules Team 11/10/95] The card just creates a list of affected
creatures and the list cannot have a single creature more than once.

1.30 Evil Eye of Orms-By-Gore

Evil Eye of Orms-By-Gore:

Will prevent Akron Legionnaires from attacking. [Aahz 10/21/94]

Card Information

1.31 Evil Presence
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Evil Presence:

A changed land is considered to be the new land type in all ways. This
is not just a change of name. It changes the color of mana produced
too. [Page 60]

Will not add or remove Snow-Covered nature from a land.
[Duelist Magazine #6, Page 132]

Card Information

1.32 Eye for an Eye

Eye for an Eye:

Can be used for damage from creatures, spells and the effects of
permanents, but not from mana burn. [Card Text] The Arabian version was
not usable on damage from non creature permanents.

Cannot be used on effects that cause loss of life. This includes
Shahrazad, Channel, and death of a Personal Incarnation. It can only
be used on damage. [bethmo]

Since it does allow you to reduce damage, you may use a Circle of
Protection or other form of damage prevention to reduce the damage and
still do full damage to your opponent. [bethmo]

Can be used during damage prevention even though it is not a damage
prevention or redirection effect. It’s an exception. [Aahz 06/12/95]

Can only be used during a damage prevention in which the player is
damaged. It cannot be used retroactively like Reverse Damage and
Simulacrum can. [Aahz 06/06/94]

Does white damage to your opponent.

Targets the damage, so it can be Deflected from one packet of damage on you
to a different packet of damage. [WotC Rules Team 05/08/96]

Card Information
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